Suicide Awareness Month

September is a month to combat the stigma. The stigma of mental health. If we can all come together to understand that we do not need to be ashamed of needing help in life, then we can start preventing suicide. Life is hard enough to begin with, then with the knowledge we now know of the chemical imbalances that cause certain disorders in the brain, we need to be able to not be ashamed to ask for help!

Suicide can be prevented but not always be stopped. Just like any other illness or disorder, death sometimes will happen. But, that does not mean we can’t save more people along the way.

I will start with this. I have major depressive disorder, anxiety, ADD, and PTSD along with reoccurring suicidal thoughts (never wanted to act on them). I seek help from a therapist, psychiatrist, meditation. I have been to 2 outpatient programs. I work on my mental well-being daily. I, like many others, have my ups and downs. But, I am worth fighting for. I will be there for myself and my family! I only am saying this to show you that, if you have any mental disorders, you are not alone. Let’s fight this together!

Author: nathanfuist

33 y/o male with a wife and a beautiful baby boy. Retired Firefighter/Paramedic. Now I work in the financial industry.

Leave a comment